Skip to main content
  • Share:

Councils play the central role in delivering faster housing approvals. To recognise council achievements towards innovation, customer service and assessment efficiency, a series of awards will be presented to high achieving councils on behalf of the NSW Premier, Planning Institute of Australia (NSW) (PIA NSW) and Local Government NSW (LGNSW). 

Premier's Awards 

The 2017 Premier’s Awards for Public Service are an opportunity to recognise councils’ work and improvements in development assessment processes.


The awards showcase successes and progress towards the Premier’s priorities, including the Premier's target of 90% of housing approvals to be determined within 90 days, one of the measures the NSW Government has adopted to improve housing affordability.


As part of the judging criteria, consideration will be given to how nominated projects and initiatives align with the principles in the Department’s Development Assessment Best Practice Guide.


Nominations are now closed and applications are in the process of being shortlisted. 

Key dates

  • Finalists announced in October 2017
  • Awards Ceremony on 1 November 2017

More information

The Department’s Awards Ambassador Mark Schofield on (02) 9274 6362 or

Planning Institute of NSW – Awards for Excellence

The annual PIA NSW Awards for Planning Excellence demonstrate leading practice, leadership and achievement in planning. 

This year, PIA NSW are offering a new award, 'Innovation in Development Assessment'. This award provides recognition for a council that has implemented an innovative change to improve the efficiency of its development assessment practices, and delivered improved planning outcomes for the community and industry.  

Nominations opened on 8 May 2017. All Councils that have implemented innovative changes are encouraged to apply. One of the judging criteria is that councils demonstrate that the initiative aligns with principles in the Development Assessment Best Practice Guide.

Key dates:

  • Nominations close on 7 August 2017
  • Awards Dinner on 8 November 2017

More information:

The NSW Awards Nomination Guidelines contains further details about the awards and how to apply. Michelle Riepsamen, NSW Education & Executive Officer, can be contacted on

Local Government NSW Award

The LGNSW Planning Award recognises individuals and councils who have demonstrated excellence in planning and development services. 

The award focuses on leadership and culture change, innovation and excellence, recognising actions to promote co-operation, participation and the delivery of positive and pragmatic outcomes in the planning and development area. More information on the award and award categories can be found on LGNSW’s website.
Entries for the LGNSW Planning Award are now open. Councils, or individuals within councils, that have introduced or driven changes to improve development assessment processes are encouraged to apply.

Key dates:

  • Nominations close on 25 August 2017.
  • Winners will be announced at the LGNSW Planning Breakfast on 24 October 2017 at Parliament House.

More information:

For more information about each category and submission criteria, and to submit your entry, view the link below:

Page last updated: 18/09/2017