Skip to main content
  • Share:

The National Construction Code (NCC) is a uniform set of technical provisions for the design, construction and performance of buildings throughout Australia. It is published and maintained by the Australian Building Codes Board on behalf of and in collaboration with the Australian Government and each State and Territory Government.


The NCC is made up of the:

  • The Building Code of Australia (BCA), being Volumes One and Two (administered in NSW by the Department of Planning and Environment); and
  • The Plumbing Code of Australia, being Volume Three (administered in NSW by NSW Fair Trading).


Copies of the NCC can be downloaded for free from the Australian Building Codes Board website.


The NCC is amended every three years and technical proposals to change the NCC are considered during this cycle. The next update of the NCC is scheduled for 2019. Find more information on the NCC Proposal for Change process.


Overview of the BCA


The BCA sets the minimum requirements for a building in relation to its structure, fire safety, access and egress, health and amenity and energy efficiency. It is referenced and given effect in NSW through the Environmental Planning and Assessment Act 1979. All new buildings and new building work must comply with the BCA.


The BCA is a performance based code. Compliance with the BCA is achieved by meeting the relevant Performance Requirements. This can be done by:

  • complying with the prescriptive Deemed-to-Satisfy Provisions;
  • the development of a Performance Solution; or
  • a combination of both.


View more information on how to comply with the Code.

Page last updated: 16/03/2018