Skip to main content
  • Share:

Sydney's drinking water 

In January 2011, the NSW Government approved State Environmental Planning Policy (Sydney Drinking Water Catchment) 2011 (the SEPP) that enables councils to assess applications in the drinking water catchment. The catchment covers 16,000 square kilometres and provides drinking water to more than four million people in Sydney, Wollongong, Goulburn, Lithgow, the Blue Mountains, Bowral and Nowra.

The SEPP came into effect on 1 March 2011.

Under the SEPP, rules have been developed that will ensure all developments that need consent have a neutral or beneficial effect on water quality, and incorporate current recommended practices or performance standards to help achieve this.

Page last updated: 22/08/2017