Skip to main content
  • Share:

Housing monitor reports provide information on residential housing activity in Sydney.


The monitors contain information on:

  • the total number of dwellings approved and completed
  • where dwellings are being approved and built
  • the types of dwelling that are being built
  • land available for future housing development

To join the mailing list to receive notifications when monitoring data has been updated please email You can also send any feedback, comments and suggestions to the same address.

Sydney Metropolitan region consists of six districts: Central, North, South, South West, West and West Central.


View the monitor below:

Illawarra region consists of four local government areas: Kiama, Shellharbour, Shoalhaven and Wollongong.


Central Coast region consists of two Local Government Areas: Gosford and Wyong.


View the monitor below:


Additional data on housing in the Illawarra-Shoalhaven region can be found below:


The Illawarra-Shoalhaven Urban Development Program Update 2016 covers two reporting periods, 2013/14 and 2014/15.

Monthly dwelling completion data for Sydney, broken down by LGA and dwelling type is supplied in tabular format below.

6 Monthly reports were also prepared for a short time in 2010 and 2011.

Page last updated: 26/02/2018