Skip to main content
  • Share:

Vegetation SEPP

The NSW Government has introduced a new land management State Environmental Planning Policy.


The State Environmental Planning Policy (Vegetation in Non-Rural Areas) 2017 (Vegetation SEPP) was one of a suite of Land Management and Biodiversity Conservation (LMBC) reforms that commenced in New South Wales on 25 August 2017. The Vegetation SEPP (the SEPP) works together with the Biodiversity Conservation Act 2016 and the Local Land Services Amendment Act 2016 to create a framework for the regulation of clearing of native vegetation in NSW.


The SEPP will ensure the biodiversity offset scheme (established under the Land Management and Biodiversity reforms) will apply to all clearing of native vegetation that exceeds the offset thresholds in urban areas and environmental conservation zones that does not require development consent.


Vegetation SEPP applies to the following local government areas:

Bayside, City of Blacktown, Burwood, Camden, City of Campbelltown, Canterbury-Bankstown, Canada Bay, Cumberland, City of Fairfield, Georges River, City of Hawkesbury, Hornsby, Hunter’s Hill, Georges River, Inner West, Ku-ring-gai, Lane Cove, City of Liverpool, Mosman, Newcastle, North Sydney, Northern Beaches, City of Parramatta, City of Penrith, City of Randwick, City of Ryde, Strathfield, Sutherland Shire, City of Sydney, The Hills Shire, Waverley, City of Willoughby, Woollahra.


The Vegetation SEPP also applies to land within a variety of zones as set out in the legislation ‘Land to which the policy applies’.


Find further details on the NSW Government’s biodiversity reforms package.


Click here to view the policy on the NSW Legislation website.

For more information:

  • Call us on 1300 305 695.
  • If English isn’t your first language, please call 131 450. Ask for an interpreter in your language and then request to be connected to us on 1300 305 695.

Page last updated: 11/05/2018