Skip to main content
NSW Department of Planning, Industry and Environment
  • Share:

Our vision is to enrich the lives of people in NSW through our work on high quality planning, housing delivery, great design, culture, clean environments, wildlife protection and energy security.

Our Ministers

Following the March 2019 election, functions relating to the NSW Department of Planning and Environment are allocated to the following Ministers:


Our Secretary

Jim Betts

Secretary, NSW Department of Planning, Industry and Environment


Jim Betts Secretary headshot in content 835x500


Jim Betts is the Secretary of the Department of Planning, Industry and Environment, which holds key responsibilities within the New South Wales Government for long-term planning, infrastructure priorities, natural resources, the environment, energy and growing the State’s industries.


Jim joined the Department of Planning and Industry in 2019, following almost six years as the Chief Executive Officer at Infrastructure NSW and five years as the Secretary of the Victorian Department of Transport.

Our leadership team

Jim Betts

Jim joined the Department of Planning, Industry and Environment in 2019, following almost six years as the Chief Executive Officer at Infrastructure NSW and five years as the Secretary of the Victorian Department of Transport.
Jim Betts secretary 430x270

Alex O'Mara

Alex is charged with re-orienting our planning system around people, places and communities, with a strong emphasis on upfront strategic planning and integration of planning and infrastructure. She’ll focus on excellence in design, respect for local neighbourhood character and welcoming public spaces. Planning for environmental infrastructure and biodiversity are key to her role.
Alex OMara Deputy Secretary Place Design and Public Spaces 430x270

Alison Frame

Alison leads the new Housing and Property Group which has been formed to maximise economic outcomes and deliver community benefits through the more efficient utilisation of government owned land and property in the delivery of diverse housing, economic activities and public spaces.
alison frame_430x278

Anissa Levy

Anissa is responsible for leading the Department’s Environment, Energy and Science Group and delivering on significant policies, initiatives and strategies on climate change, renewable energy and energy security, environmental sustainability, waste management, biodiversity and conservation. She also oversees the regulatory functions of the Environment Protection Authority and the NSW Resources Regulator.
Anissa Levy Coordinator General Environment Energy and Science 430x270

Gary Barnes

Gary joins from the Department of Premier and Cabinet where he was the Deputy Secretary for Regional NSW. Gary’s responsible for delivering a government-wide approach to providing quality services and infrastructure to drive sustainable economic growth across our regions.
Gary Barnes Coordinator General Regions Industry Agriculture and Resources 430x270

James Hebron

James was previously the Chief Counsel for the Department and now performs this role for the new cluster. James's background includes private practice as well as governance and legal work with Woodside Energy and Sumitomo Corporation. A legal 'deep generalist', James worked across many areas prior to and since joining the public service. He focuses on people, outcomes, and delivering results for the state.
James Hebron Chief Legal Counsel 430x270

Jim Bentley

Jim Bentley joined the department from Hunter Water Corporation and now holds the NSW Government’s most senior water role. He is responsible for negotiating for our sustainable and affordable access to water with other states and the Commonwealth, and for coordinating with colleagues across government, state-owned corporations and local utilities to ensure we are delivering resilient water services for the people of New South Wales.
NSW Department of Planning and Environment

Jody Broun

Jody retains her role as Chief Executive of the Aboriginal Housing Office alongside her Cluster Lead role, to advance the interests of Aboriginal people throughout NSW, and to use the combined power of the department to deliver better social and economic outcomes for Aboriginal people and their communities. Jody is an Yinjibarndi woman from the Pilbara in Western Australia and has worked extensively with Aboriginal communities in WA, NSW and across Australia
Jody Broun cluster lead aboriginal strategy and outcomes 430x270

Kirstie Allen

Working in partnership with the whole Cluster, and with government and industry, Kirstie is charged with delivering the Cluster’s strategic and reform agenda. Kirstie will work along with Cluster partners to deliver policy and strategic planning reform in areas including water, planning, waste and housing. Kirstie is also charged with implementing the NSW government’s place-based business cases, and smart cities strategy.
Kirstie Allen Deputy Secretary Strategy and Reform 430x270

Marcus Ray

Marcus is responsible for improving our planning and assessment functions and leading the digitalisation of the planning system. Marcus drives a strong customer and community focussed culture to build confidence in the assessment of the State’s most significant projects and infrastructure proposals. Ongoing compliance also plays a critical role ensuring industry complies with conditions of approval.
Marcus Ray Deputy Secretary Planning and Assessment 430x270

Sally Anne Friedlander

Sally Anne will lead the People and Culture teams across the Cluster, along with internal and external communications, to help leaders at all levels turn the departmental vision into a reality for our staff. She is responsible for developing and executing strategies to manage our talent and plan for their progression and succession, develop and enhance our working culture, ensure our communications are effective and informative, and keep us safe and healthy in the workplace.
NSW Department of Planning and Environment

Sarah Hill

Sarah Hill is the CEO of the Greater Sydney Commission and joins the Cluster leadership team to provide powerful and experienced advocacy for modernisation and reform in the planning of our cities, towns and regions. While the Commission operates independently of the Department, Sarah’s additional position on our leadership team allows her to guide collaborative and aligned engagement between both organisations in delivering quality outcomes for Greater Sydney and NSW.
Sarah Hill Deputy Secretary Strategic Directions and Integration 430x270

Shaun Smith

Shaun previously served as Deputy Secretary, Corporate Service Partners and will continue in this expanded role in our new department. Before joining the department he worked in the Department of Finance Services and Innovation (DFSI) where, among other achievements, he led the establishment of the Strategic Programs and Performance Management Office, reporting to the Secretary.
Shaun Smith Deputy Secretary Coorporate Services 430x270

Page last updated: 03/05/2021