NSW Department of Planning and Environment

Development consent and construction approval processes

Find out more about each stage of the development consent and construction approval processes. This section will take you through each stage, people’s roles and what’s involved to get your Occupation Certificate then celebrate and move in.

stage 1 tile 430x278

If you get the front end right you are likely to have a simple DA process.

stage 2 tile 430x278

When you have filled out all the required forms you can lodge your application with council.

stage 3 tile 430x278

The site must be inspected, applicants and neighbours engaged, reports drafted and recommendations made.

stage 4 tile 430x278

There are three possible outcomes for a DA: Development consent, DA refusal, deferred commencement consent.

stage 5 tile 430x278

Before you can start building you must do four things: Get a Construction Certificate, appoint a Principal Certifying Authority (PCA), give the council and the PCA two days’ notice before you start work, and complete any works.

stage 6 tile 430x278

The OC authorises the occupation and use of a new building or building section. For staged works, an Interim OC may be issued which allows you to occupy the completed part of the building.

Page last updated: 05/10/2022