Skip to main content
NSW Department of Planning, Industry and Environment
  • Share:

Sydney Metro is a new standalone railway which will include 31 metro stations and more than 66km of new metro rail, from Rouse Hill to Bankstown through Sydney’s CBD.


Sydney Metro will be delivered in two stages;

Stage 1: Northwest

Sydney Metro ‘Northwest’, formerly the North West Rail Link, will be the first stage of Sydney Metro to begin operating in 2019 and will span from Rouse Hill to Chatswood.


Stage 2: City and Southwest

Sydney Metro ‘City and Southwest’ will extend from the end of Sydney Metro Northwest at Chatswood under Sydney Harbour, through new CBD stations and south west to Bankstown.


Stage 2 is being delivered in two core components:

  • Chatswood to Sydenham – planning approval received in January 2017; and
  • Sydenham to Bankstown – under assessment

SydMetro overview map

Sydney Metro Overview


For more general information on Sydney Metro projects you can visit the Sydney Metro website.


Back to Sydney Metro

Page last updated: 13/08/2018