NSW Department of Planning and Environment


Sydney Metro is a new standalone railway which will include 39 metro stations and more than 90km of new metro rail, from Rouse Hill to Bankstown through Sydney’s CBD and from Westmead to Sydney’s CBD.

Sydney Metro Northwest

Sydney’s first metro line, the Metro Northwest, opened on 26 May 2019 and extends from Rouse Hill to Chatswood. The line currently services 13 metro stations. The line is being extended into the Sydney CBD and beyond, as part of Sydney Metro City and Southwest.

Sydney Metro City and Southwest

Sydney Metro City and Southwest will extend from the end of Sydney Metro Northwest at Chatswood under Sydney Harbour, through new CBD stations and south west to Bankstown. The line will include five new stations, new underground platforms at Martin Place and Central stations, and 11 upgraded stations.

Sydney Metro West

Sydney Metro West will connect Greater Parramatta with the Sydney CBD. The line will include new metro stations at Westmead, Parramatta, Sydney Olympic Park, North Strathfield, Burwood North, Five Dock. The Bays Precinct and the Sydney CBD linking new communities to rail services. A station at Pyrmont is also being investigated by Sydney Metro.

Western Sydney Airport

Western Sydney Airport is a proposed driverless metro railway line between St Marys and Bringelly, which will service the future Western Sydney International (Nancy-Bird Walton) Airport and the Western Sydney Aerotropolis, interchanging with the T1 Western Line at St Marys.

Sydney Metro lines alignment map

Note: you can click on the Sydney Metro map below to view a larger version.

map sydney metro 2020 04 30 incontent 835px

More information

For further information on Sydney Metro projects, you can visit the Sydney Metro website.

Page last updated: 28/09/2022