Skip to main content
NSW Department of Planning, Industry and Environment
  • Share:

Greater Sydney district planning will guide the implementation of A Metropolis of Three Cities – The Greater Sydney Region Plan across the five Districts that form the metropolitan area.


These 20 year plans are a bridge between regional and local planning. They inform local environmental plans, community strategic plans and the assessment of planning proposals. The District Plans also help councils to plan and deliver for growth and change, and to align their local planning strategies to place–based outcomes.



Western City Central City Eastern City North District South District
Blue Mountains Blacktown Bayside Hornsby Georges River
Hawkesbury Cumberland Burwood Hunter's Hill Canterbury–Bankstown
Penrith Parramatta Canada Bay Ku–ring–gai Sutherland
Camden The Hills Inner West Lane Cove
Randwick Northern Beaches
Straithfield Mosman
Liverpool Woollahra Willoughby
Wollondilly Waverley Ryde
City of Sydney North Sydney

Find out more about the district plans at the Greater Sydney Commission website.

Greater Sydney Commission

The Greater Sydney Commission is responsible for metropolitan planning in a partnership between State and local government. Its role is to coordinate and align the planning that will shape the future of Greater Sydney and make it more liveable, productive and sustainable. For more information visit the Greater Sydney Commission website.