Skip to main content
NSW Department of Planning, Industry and Environment
  • Share:

The Central West and Orana region is the geographic heart of NSW that balances stunning natural landscapes with vibrant regional cities and centres, historic towns and villages, diverse lifestyles, and community festivals and events.


The Central West and Orana Regional Plan is a 20-year land-use blueprint to support a prosperous future for the region.


The Central West and Orana region consists of 19 local government areas: Bathurst Regional, Blayney, Bogan, Cabonne, Coonamble, Cowra, Dubbo Regional, Forbes, Gilgandra, Lachlan, Lithgow, Mid-Western Regional, Narromine, Oberon, Orange, Parkes, Warren, Warrumbungle and Weddin.


Have your say on the draft updated CWO Regional Plan 2041


Following consultation with councils and NSW Government agencies, we have prepared a draft updated Central West and Orana Regional Plan 2041 that is on exhibition for you to have your say until 11.59pm Friday 18 February 2022.


An engagement hub has been created to help you understand more about the draft regional plan and give us your feedback.


Have your say on the draft CWO Regional Plan 2041

Visit our exhibition hub to learn more about the draft Central West Orana Regional Plan 2041 and have your say.

CWO Regional Plan tile 430x278

Central West and Orana Regional Plan 2036

We are achieving goals of the inaugural CWO Regional Plan 2036 to create the most diverse regional economy in NSW with a vibrant network of centres at the heart of the state.

2 Blayney Main street - June 2021

Delivering the plan

We share responsibility for implementing actions and monitoring the intended outcomes of the plan with our important regional stakeholders.

Lithgow Foundations Portland 430x278