Skip to main content
NSW Department of Planning and Environment
  • Share:

The Riverina Murray Regional Plan is a 20-year blueprint for the future of the Riverina Murray.


The NSW Government’s vision for the Riverina Murray is to support a diverse economy founded on Australia’s food bowl, iconic waterways supported by the right infrastructure and a strong network of vibrant, connected and resilient communities.


The Riverina Murray region consists of 20 local government areas: Albury, Berrigan, Bland, Carrathool, Coolamon, Cootamundra-Gundagai, Edward River, Federation, Greater Hume, Griffith, Hay, Junee, Leeton, Lockhart, Murray River, Murrumbidgee, Narrandera, Snowy Valleys, Temora and Wagga Wagga.


Review and update of the Regional Plan

We are currently undertaking the first 5-year review of the regional plan to reset priorities and extend its reach to 2041.


The review is involving consultation with councils, community representatives, industry organisations and other stakeholders.


The updated draft Riverina Murray Regional Plan 2041 will be on exhibition and open for your feedback from mid-2022.


The updated plan will build on the current Riverina Murray Regional Plan 2036.

Riverina Murray Regional Plan 2036

Read our 20-year blueprint for the future of the Riverina Murray.

Image of Woman admiring the street art on Lachlan Street, Hay.

Delivering the 2036 Plan

The Regional Plan 2036 centred on creating more jobs, strengthening the region’s centres, sustainably managing its agricultural, extractive and natural resources and protecting the Murray River.

Image of Business people arriving at Wagga Wagga Airport, Wagga Wagga.