

### **PLANNING** circular

PLANNING SYSTEM	
Act and regulation changes	
Circular	PS 09-023
Issued	26 August 2009
Related	PS 09-016

# Joint regional planning panels— Western Region and Wagga Wagga

The purpose of this circular is to advise councils and the public of the commencement of joint regional planning panels for the Western Region of NSW and the Wagga Wagga local government area on 1 September 2009.

### Introduction

On 1 July 2009 amendments were made to the *Environmental Planning and Assessment Act 1979* to introduce provisions for joint regional planning panels (regional panels)—independent bodies that will determine regionally significant development applications.

Regional panels consist of three State Government and two local council members, with council membership rotating depending in which local government area the proposed development would be located.

### Two new regional panels

The Minister for Planning has made orders to constitute two new regional panels:

- Western Region Joint Planning Panel—covering the local government areas of Balranald, Bathurst Regional, Berrigan, Bland, Blayney, Bogan, Bourke, Brewarrina, Broken Hill City, Cabonne, Carrathool, Central Darling, Cobar, Conargo, Coonamble, Corowa Shire, Cowra, Deniliquin, Dubbo City, Forbes, Gilgandra, Griffith City, Hay, Jerilderie, Lachlan, Leeton, City of Lithgow, Mid-Western Regional, Murray, Murrumbidgee, Narrandera, Narromine, Oberon, Orange City, Parkes, Urana, Wakool, Walgett, Warren, Warrumbungle Shire, Weddin, Wellington and Wentworth.
- Wagga Wagga Interim Joint Planning Panel covering the local government area of Wagga Wagga City

These two regional panels will commence on 1 September 2009, with the State members to be appointed shortly. Please note the Minister for Planning previously constituted five other regional panels on I July 2009:

- Sydney East Joint Planning Panel
- Sydney West Joint Planning Panel
- Hunter and Central Coast Joint Planning Panel
- Northern Region Joint Planning Panel
- Southern Region Joint Planning Panel.

The State members of these panels were announced by the Minister for Planning on 24 July 2009.

As of 1 September 2009, regional panels will now be in place across all council areas in NSW (excluding the City of Sydney).

## Functions of the two new regional panels

The two newly formed regional panels will exercise the same functions as the other regional panels, as set out in State Environmental Planning Policy (Major Development) 2005 (the Major Development SEPP).

In addition, the Wagga Wagga Interim Joint Planning Panel will take on the development assessment functions previously performed by the Wagga Wagga City Council Planning Panel.

The Wagga Wagga City Council Planning Panel was established by the Minister for Planning on 7 November 2007 to help resolve outstanding local planning issues. This panel will be retained with its membership unchanged so that it can complete its functions relating to the making of the comprehensive Standard Instrument local environmental plan for the local government area.

### Savings and transitional provisions

Minor amendments have been made to the Environmental Planning and Assessment Regulation 2000 and the Major Development SEPP to provide savings and transitional provisions.

Development applications that have been made but not yet determined by 1 September 2009 will continue to be determined by the relevant council in the Western Region.

Pending development applications, including those that would otherwise have been determined by the Wagga Wagga City Council Planning Panel, are to be transferred to the Wagga Wagga Interim Joint Planning Panel for determination.

Crown development applications made after 1 July 2009 from the Western Region or Wagga Wagga local government area that have been referred to the Planning Assessment Commission between 1 July 2009 and 31 August 2009 are to be transferred to the relevant regional panel.

These savings provisions are effective from 1 September 2009.

#### **Further information**

The Major Development SEPP, the Environmental Planning and Assessment Regulation 2000 (as amended) and the Minister's orders are available on the NSW legislation website at www.legislation.nsw.gov.au.

For enquiries about the regional panels, please phone the Panel Secretariat on 1300 938 344 or visit the regional panels website at <a href="https://www.irpp.nsw.gov.au">www.irpp.nsw.gov.au</a>.

For all other enquiries please phone the Department's Information Centre 02 9228 6333 or email <a href="mailto:information@planning.nsw.gov.au">information@planning.nsw.gov.au</a>.

Note: This and other Department of Planning circulars are published on the web at <a href="http://www.planning.nsw.gov.au/PlanningSystem/Circularsandguidelines/PlanningSystemCirculars/tabid/81/Default.aspx">http://www.planning.nsw.gov.au/PlanningSystem/Circulars/tabid/81/Default.aspx</a>.

#### Authorised by:

Sam Haddad Director-General NSW Department of Planning

Important note: This circular does not constitute legal advice. Users are advised to seek professional advice and refer to the relevant legislation, as necessary, before taking action in relation to any matters covered by this circular

**Disclaimer:** While every reasonable effort has been made to ensure that this document is correct at the time of publication, the State of New South Wales, its agencies and employees, disclaim any and all liability to any person in respect of anything or the consequences of anything done or omitted to be done in reliance upon the whole or any part of this document.

<sup>©</sup> State of New South Wales through the Department of Planning www.planning.nsw.gov.au