Skip to main content
NSW Department of Planning, Industry and Environment
  • Share:

Planning Minister Rob Stokes today announced the Hon. Morris Iemma and Sheridan Dudley as the final two District Commissioners for the Greater Sydney Commission.


Mr Stokes said Mr Iemma, former Premier of NSW, and Ms Dudley, a former general manager of Camden Council, will bring extensive experience and knowledge to the Commission’s role of shaping Sydney’s future planning direction.


“I am delighted to have Morris and Sheridan joining the Greater Sydney Commission, bringing their broad range of expertise to the team,” Mr Stokes said.


"District Commissioners will play a critical role in representing their local communities, and creating district plans for their local areas as part of a new vision for the future shape of greater Sydney.”


District Commissioners are nominated by local Councils in each district, and the appointments were made after a comprehensive selection process.


Greater Sydney Commission Chief Executive Officer Sarah Hill said Mr Iemma and Ms Dudley will play an instrumental role in representing their districts.


"Mr Iemma and Ms Dudley will hit the ground running in their roles representing the South and South West Districts, helping to create their area’s district plans and engaging with councils and stakeholders,” Ms Hill said.


"The district plans will set out forward-thinking and game-changing planning priorities for each district and what needs to be done to achieve them. The district plans will also outline how we will co-create Sydney’s future as a global city.”


Mr Iemma and Ms Dudley will join the GSC with Chief Commissioner Lucy Turnbull, Deputy Chief Commissioner and Economic Commissioner Geoff Roberts, Social Commissioner Heather Nesbitt, Environment Commissioner Roderick Simpson and District Commissioners Dr Deborah Dearing (North), Maria Atkinson (Central), Sean O’Toole (West) and Professor Edward Blakely (West Central).



Morris Iemma, District Commissioner South

Mr Iemma served as Premier of NSW from 2005-2008. Mr Iemma is currently a board member of TAFE NSW and is Chairman of Riverwood Community Centre, Miracle Babies Foundation and NSW Cancer Institute. He has also served on the Boards of Beyond Blue, the SCG Trust and as Chair of the South East Sydney Health District.


Sheridan Dudley, District Commissioner South West

Ms Dudley is a foundation Director of the Australian Council for New Urbanism and was General Manager of Camden Council from 1998 to 2004. She has held a wide range of senior executive positions in the public service in NSW, Victoria and the Northern Territory, providing policy and operational advice on education, health, community services, planning and local government. Most recently, Ms Dudley has held a senior role in the NSW Government.


Media release download