A NSW Government website

Central West and Orana Regional Plan 2041

The Central West and Orana region sits at the geographic heart of NSW. Its highlands, tablelands and slopes in the east contrast to the fertile volcanic soils and the plains that dominate the region’s north and west.

The region comprises Bathurst, Blayney, Bogan, Cabonne, Coonamble, Cowra, Dubbo, Forbes, Gilgandra, Lachlan, Lithgow, Mid-Western, Narromine, Oberon, Orange, Parkes, Warren, Warrumbungle and Weddin LGAs.

Aboriginal people have cared for the lands and water of the Central West and Orana region for more than 60,000 years. The Wiradjuri are the people of 3 rivers: the Kalari/Galari (Lachlan), the Wambuul (Macquarie) and the Murrumbidjeri (Murrumbidgee). 

The region’s main hubs are Bathurst and Orange in the east, where residents have easy access to Sydney. Similarly, people living in the larger centre of Cowra can access Canberra. Mudgee connects to the Hunter Valley and Dubbo is a major service centre for much of western NSW.

More than 290,000 people live in the region – we expect this population to grow to around 325,000 people by 2041. Most of the new residents – as well as the new housing and workplaces required – will be in Bathurst, Dubbo, Orange, Cowra, Forbes, Lithgow, Mudgee and Parkes.

The Central West and Orana Regional Plan 2041 aims to facilitate this growth in a sustainable way by adapting to future challenges posed by changes in climate, housing markets and the economy. 

Download the Central West and Orana Regional Plan 2041 (PDF, 23.1 MB).

For additional information, read our frequently asked questions.