A NSW Government website

Alpine resorts

Planning for NSW alpine resorts

Development assessments for alpine resorts are governed by Chapter 4 of State Environmental Planning Policy (Precincts-Regional) 2021 (alpine SEPP).

The alpine SEPP aims to protect the natural and cultural heritage of alpine resort land and to encourage environmentally sustainable development.

The NSW alpine resort areas (PDF, 366 KB) include:

  • Thredbo
  • Perisher Range (including Bullocks Flat)
  • Mount Selwyn
  • Charlotte Pass
  • Kosciusko Mountain Retreat
  • Ski Rider
  • Sponars Chalet.

All are in Kosciuszko National Park.

The resorts host snow-based recreation in winter, and hiking, mountain-biking, horse-riding and fishing in the warmer months. The resorts make an important economic and social contribution to the state.

Key requirements of the Alpine SEPP include:

  • There must be an environmental impact assessment for all developments.
  • Geotechnical and land stability issues associated with construction in steep alpine environments to be rigorously assessed (see Geotechnical Policy (PDF, 429 KB), geotechnical forms and geotechnical maps below).
  • All major development proposals to be advertised.
  • Development proposals to be referred to NSW Department of Planning and Environment – Environment and Heritage for comment and be authorised under the National Parks and Wildlife Act 1974.

Where the policy applies

The following maps show the land to which the policy applies. The overall boundaries map (PDF, 13.8 MB) gives an overview. Specific resort maps are:

Applying to develop

The Minister for Planning is the consent authority for development. You must make your development application to the Department of Planning and Environment through the NSW Planning Portal.

We recommend you contact the Alpine Resorts team and any other relevant agencies to discuss proposal.

Guides and processes

Fire safety in the alpine resorts

We promote fire safety in tourist accommodation buildings.

The forms and resources below help in certifying and maintaining essential fire safety measures.

1. Annual fire safety statement

Each year, owners or leaseholders of buildings in alpine resort areas must submit a fire safety statement.

The statement confirms that an accredited practitioner (fire safety) has checked all essential fire safety measures and they have passed.

The statement confirms that an accredited practitioner (fire safety) has checked all essential fire safety measures and they have passed.

Visit Fire safety certification for fire safety statement forms.

Mail completed statements to PO Box 36, Jindabyne NSW 2627 or email them to [email protected]

2. Fire safety certificate

New or altered buildings must be issued with a fire safety certificate. A certificate must also be issued for each new or altered essential fire safety measure.

Once a fire safety certificate is issued, a fire safety statement must be submitted every 12 months.

Visit Fire safety certification for fire safety certificate forms.

3. Fire safety notice

Fire exits that include a fire-isolated stairway, passageway or ramp must display a Fire Safety Notice (PDF, 41 KB)

Geotechnical maps

The geotechnical maps mentioned in the policy are below. View the maps with the accompanying notes (PDF, 258 KB) 

Perisher Valley incorporates nine (9) maps. G1 illustrate the G-lines referred to in the policy, in Perisher Valley, as a whole. G1-1 to G1-8 illustrating more detailed G-line sections of Perisher Valley individually.

The maps below illustrate G-lines in the remaining five resort areas and three resort support areas referred to in the policy.

For more information, contact the Alpine Resorts team on 02 6456 1733 or email [email protected]