A NSW Government website

South West Growth Area

Priority growth areas and precincts

The South West Growth Area (SWGA) is approximately 10,000 hectares adjoining the Western Sydney Aerotropolis and the Glenfield to Macarthur Urban Renewal Corridor.

The SWGA is one of three growth areas in South West Sydney. The other two are the Wilton Growth Area and the Greater Macarthur Growth Area.

The SWGA is comprised of 14 precincts and several sub precincts. To date, 9 precincts have been rezoned.

We are working with local councils and communities to help provide new homes in the south west of Sydney that are close to jobs, parks, schools and amenities.

South West Growth Area Plan

We have prepared an update of the SWGA Structure Plan. To prepare the update, we have worked with councils as well as state agencies and industry groups.

Carter Street precinct

Planning is underway

Our work will better connect new suburbs with the planned Western Sydney Aerotropolis and the broader Western Sydney Employment Area. This includes making the most of the NSW Government’s investment in major infrastructure like the Bringelly Road and Northern Road upgrades, the Outer Sydney Orbital stage 1 upgrades and the South West Rail Link.

Releasing more land for housing will mean Sydneysiders have access to a range of homes that suit different needs, budgets and lifestyle choices. It also helps to place downward pressure on housing prices.

We are also making sure there’s funding for essential services, including main roads, water mains and sewer carriers. The new plans we are developing will help to provide more certainty for the community, businesses and local government on the timing of land releases. We have finalised detailed planning for stages 1, 2 and 5 of Leppington.

Related information

For more information read the historical documents.