A NSW Government website

NSW dual-naming policy

Since June 2001, the government has supported a dual naming policy for geographical features and cultural sites. The policy aims to give prominence to Aboriginal place names alongside European counterparts.

To date, 35 sites have had Aboriginal names officially recognised (see the table below). The NSW Government encourages people and organisations to use both names when referencing these sites. For example, Lavender Bay in Sydney could be referred to as ‘Lavender Bay / Gooweebahree’.

Dual naming Aboriginal sites

NSW is home to more than 30 Aboriginal languages. Through place naming, communities can unlock stories and provide a sense of belonging and identity.

In NSW, the Geographical Names Board (GNB) is the authority for naming features such as mountains, bays and rivers along with suburbs, railway stations and other places and sites. Local councils look after naming infrastructure such as bridges and roads.

When the GNB assigns a name, it becomes the officially recognised place name. This means the name is published on maps and made available for the community to use.

You can find more information on dual naming on the Geographical Names Board website.

Nominate a place name

Anyone can submit a proposal to name or rename a geographical feature, including for dual naming.

Any proposal must have community support before it’s submitted to the Geographical Names Board.

The Geographical Names Board will consult with the community throughout the place-naming process to ensure names reflect local sentiment.

The Geographical Names Board reviews all submissions before making a recommendation to the relevant minister, who will have the final say.

Submit a place name proposal through the Geographical Names Board website.

Dual names in NSW

Non-traditional name Aboriginal name
Bathurst Regional Council  
Mount Panorama Wahluu
Bega Valley Shire Council  
Mount Imlay Balawan
City of Newcastle  
Pirate Point Burrabihngarn
Hexham Swamp Burraghihnbihng
South Channel Hunter River Coquun
Shepherds Hill Khanterin
Flagstaff Hill Tahlbihn
Ironbark Creek Toohrnbing
Nobbys Head Whibayganba
City of Shoalhaven  
Endrick River Beulee
Pigeon House Didthul
City of Sydney  
Campbells Cove Meeliyahwool
Potts Point Derrawunn
Bennelong Point Dubbagullee
Elizabeth Bay Gurrajin
Elizabeth Point Jerrowan
Fort Denison Muddawahnyuh
Farm Cove Wahganmuggalee
Sydney Cove Warrane
Mrs Macquaries Point Yurong
Macleay Point Yurrandubbee
Dawes Point Tar-Ra
Darling Harbour Tumbalong
Hawkesbury City Council  
South Creek Wianamatta
Mosman Council  
Bradleys Head Booraghee
Chowder Bay Gooree
Chowder Head Gooragal
Middle Head Gubbuh Gubbuh
Murray River Council  
Edward River Kolety
North Sydney Council  
Lavender Bay Gooweebahree
Careening Cove Weeyuh Weeyuh
Blues Point Warungareeyuh
Mosman Bay Goram Bullagong
Tweed Shire Council  
Mount Warning Wollumbin
Woollahra Municipal Council  
Shark Island Boowambillee