Skip to main content
NSW Department of Planning, Industry and Environment
  • Share:

Sydney Metro is a new, standalone rail network, which consists of Sydney Metro Northwest (between Rouse Hill and Chatswood) and Sydney Metro City & Southwest (between Chatswood and Bankstown).


Sydney Metro City & Southwest will extend the Sydney Metro system beyond Chatswood to Bankstown, and is comprised of two core components:

  1. Chatswood to Sydenham (approved in January 2017), find out more at the Department's Major Projects website
  2. Sydenham to Bankstown (currently under assessment)


The Sydenham to Bankstown upgrade is a proposed program of works to upgrade 13 km of the Sydney Trains T3 Bankstown Line and convert 10 stations between Sydenham and Bankstown to metro standards.


State Significant Infrastructure application approved


The Sydney Metro Sydenham to Bankstown upgrade has been approved subject to conditions based on extensive consultation with local people and councils.


The Department carefully considered the community’s submissions, worked with councils and took on board their feedback to require further improvements.


A full list of the conditions of consent is available on our Major Projects website:


More information

Sign up for email updates on the Sydney Metro

Page last updated: 07/08/2019