A NSW Government website

Sydney Metro

Sydney Metro is a new standalone railway which will include 39 metro stations and more than 90 km of new metro rail, from Rouse Hill to Bankstown through Sydney’s CBD and from Westmead to Sydney’s CBD.

These Sydney Metro projects have obtained planning approval or are currently progressing through the planning assessment process.

Sydney Metro is made up of Sydney Metro Northwest, Sydney Metro City and Southwest and Sydney Metro West.

A State Significant Development Application for a concept proposal near the Bella Vista metro station is currently under assessment.

The concept application for an over station development above the approved Crows Nest Metro station was approved in December 2020.

A State Significant Development concept application for a mixed-use development adjacent to the Hills Showground metro station was approved in January 2021.

A State Significant Development Application for a concept proposal near the Kellyville metro station is currently under assessment.

The new Martin Place Metro Station Precinct will include the new Martin Place metro station and two new commercial buildings above the above the northern and southern entrances.

The new Pitt Street Metro station will include two new towers integrated with the station below the ground. Both concept applications for Pitt Street North and South were approved in June 2019.

The Sydenham to Bankstown upgrade was approved in December 2018. This project will upgrade 13km of the Sydney Trains T3 Bankstown Line and convert 10 stations between Sydenham and Bankstown to metro standards. Sydney Metro submitted a modification application which was exhibited between 21 May to 4 June 2020.

Sydney Metro West will connect Greater Parramatta with the Sydney CBD. The line will service Westmead, Parramatta, Sydney Olympic Park, The Bays Precinct and the Sydney CBD linking new communities to rail services.

The Concept Proposal for Tallawong Station Precinct South was approved in February 2019. A modification to the concept proposal and development application for the detailed design have now been submitted. Both applications are currently under assessment.

Victoria Cross station will be a Sydney Metro station located in North Sydney beneath Miller Street to the north of the Pacific Highway.

The proposed Waterloo Metro Quarter is an integrated station development combining the approved station and a separate over station development.

The Sydney Metro Western Sydney Airport project is a driverless metro railway line between St Marys and Bringelly, which will service the future Western Sydney International (Nancy-Bird Walton) Airport and the Western Sydney Aerotropolis.