NSW Department of Planning and Environment

Round 3

Accelerated Infrastructure Fund

Round 3 of the AIF is providing $300 million to co-fund and accelerate the delivery of local infrastructure to support housing supply and job generation in high-growth areas across NSW, including, for the first time, regional NSW. The extension of AIF into a 3rd round was announced as part of the $2.8 billion 2022 Housing Package in the 2022-2023 NSW Budget.

The $300 million funding will be split to allocate up to $180 million to metropolitan projects and up to $120 million for regional projects. The funding will be available for councils, state agencies and utilities to deliver roads, stormwater, electricity infrastructure, sewers and public open space projects to enable and support the construction of new homes and development of employment land.

AIF Round 3 focusses on areas undergoing the highest growth across NSW. The 18 metropolitan and 23 regional councils eligible for funding account for 94% of the State’s total population growth over the next 10 years, according to the recently released 2022 NSW population projections.

The application period closed on 30 September 2022.

Councils that were eligible to apply:



  • Bayside Council
  • Blacktown City Council
  • Camden Council
  • Campbelltown City Council
  • Canterbury–Bankstown Council
  • Central Coast Council
  • Cumberland City Council
  • Fairfield City Council
  • The Hills Shire Council

  • Liverpool City Council
  • City of Newcastle Council
  • City of Parramatta Council
  • Penrith City Council
  • City of Ryde Council
  • City of Sydney Council
  • Sutherland Shire Council
  • Wollondilly Shire Council
  • Wollongong City Council

Regional NSW

  • Albury City Council
  • Ballina Shire Council
  • Bathurst Regional Council
  • Byron Shire Council
  • Cessnock City Council
  • Coffs Harbour City Council
  • Dubbo Regional Council
  • Eurobodalla Shire Council
  • Goulburn-Mulwaree Council
  • Kiama Council
  • Lake Macquarie City Council
  • Maitland City Council

  • Mid-Coast Council
  • Orange City Council
  • Port Macquarie–Hastings Council
  • Port Stephens Council
  • Queanbeyan–Palerang Regional Council
  • Shellharbour City Council
  • Shoalhaven City Council
  • Tamworth Regional Council
  • Tweed Shire Council
  • Wagga Wagga City Council
  • Wingecarribee Shire Council

Applicants nominated infrastructure projects based on the following categories:

Critical enabling Development Social
  • Water and wastewater
  • State-owned power
  • Stormwater and drainage
  • Public and active transport
  • Roads and traffic
  • Open public space
  • Community facilities.

Application assessment will include an independent review by a technical consultant and strategic review by an expert panel before final Ministerial approval.

All information about how to apply was contained in the AIF Round 3 Guidelines (PDF, 574 KB).

More information

Please email accelerated.infrastructurefund3@dpie.nsw.gov.au to contact the team about AIF Round 3.

Page last updated: 14/11/2022